Lapse

Between the holidays, starting to write a new book, a very active and currently Momma-centric todller, being recruited by depression.answers.com, actually running, and other life events, I haven’t had time to write about running.

I neglected to document race #19, the Ugly Sweater Run – Denver.

CameraZOOM-20131221134442526

It was a fun, albeit freezing, time. It was one of multiple recent runs that I chose not to don my winter gear and regretted it. My ugly sweater was covered in bells, so I sounded like a reindeer wogging beside Michelle and Trisha.

The race committed a cardinal sin, however. The route looped past the very finish line then continued on for at least a half mile. A false summit, as it were. Poorly played, Ugly Sweater Run, poorly played.

Beyond that, I registered for my first half marathon! Rock ‘n Roll Half Marathon in New Orleans on Super Bowl Sunday. Flight is booked; shirt is ordered–it’s happening.

I”m excited and terrified. I get to run with Carmen; I can check it off my bucket list. But holy shit, it’s 13 miles!

I never fathomed getting here. 5K (3.2 miles) was the goal. Here I come, 13.1! At least it’s at sea level.

I managed to sneak in some good runs over break but not enough. I’m ready to get back into a routine (though there continues to be impediments). I need to hit it HARD for the four weeks I have between me and that start line.

About ChrstnaBergling

Colorado-bred writer, Christina Bergling knew she wanted to be an author in fourth grade. In college, she pursued a professional writing degree and started publishing small scale. With the realities of paying bills, she started working as a technical writer and document manager, traveling to Iraq as a contractor and eventually becoming a trainer and software developer. She avidly hosted multiple blogs on Iraq, bipolar, pregnancy, running. In 2015, she published two novellas. She is also featured in the horror collection Collected Christmas. Bergling is a mother of two young children and lives with her family in Colorado Springs. She spends her non-writing time running, doing yoga and barre, belly dancing, taking pictures, traveling, and sucking all the marrow out of life. View all posts by ChrstnaBergling

2 responses to “Lapse

Leave a Reply

