My Slow-Paced (WALKING) Life

I believe the time has come. I believe this baby has decided that I’m done with running.

I went to run club alone this evening, and it did not go well. I was plenty prepared. I had on my maternity support belt; I brought water; I went slow and gentle; I took breaks to walk when I got hot or started to hurt. Yet somewhere past the second mile, it just got bad.

My hips and left sciatic were hurting plenty, but that’s been pretty normal. I can ignore and push through that. However, I felt my belly tightening, and it hurt. It wasn’t that solitary line of ligament pain I had been dealing with; it was the entire uterus. I didn’t have Braxton-Hicks my first pregnancy, but I was sure I was experiencing them the past couple weeks. This was more though.

I didn’t know if it was Braxton-Hicks or cramps. I just knew to stop running. Over two miles from the car, I just started walking. The pain did not really dissipate when I started walking or removed the support belt. I had to sit on the curb for a while. I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to walk back to the car.

Yet I made it and came home to rest on the couch. I was relieved when I could feel the baby moving again and the contractions or cramps finally seemed to fade away.

But message received. Even if I wanted to run through my entire pregnancy, the baby does not seem to agree. This time was strong enough for me to put my addiction aside and listen.

So it will be largely walking for me for the foreseeable future. Less running, shorter distances. Time to focus on finishing growing this child instead.

Running will be waiting for me again in the fall.

About ChrstnaBergling

Colorado-bred writer, Christina Bergling knew she wanted to be an author in fourth grade. In college, she pursued a professional writing degree and started publishing small scale. With the realities of paying bills, she started working as a technical writer and document manager, traveling to Iraq as a contractor and eventually becoming a trainer and software developer. She avidly hosted multiple blogs on Iraq, bipolar, pregnancy, running. In 2015, she published two novellas. She is also featured in the horror collection Collected Christmas. Bergling is a mother of two young children and lives with her family in Colorado Springs. She spends her non-writing time running, doing yoga and barre, belly dancing, taking pictures, traveling, and sucking all the marrow out of life. View all posts by ChrstnaBergling

One response to “My Slow-Paced (WALKING) Life

Leave a Reply

