5K on on St. Patrick’s Day

No, that typo in the title is not mine; it was on the shirt. And no, the 5K was not on St. Patrick’s Day, but that is still the name of the race.

Last year’s time: 35:45
This year’s time: 33:28

Yes, I was pregnant last year, and I was pissed I had run so slow, but I had just run my half marathon. I was nauseous, but I will still skinny and in running shape. And I went faster this year.

33 minutes is a pretty average 5K pace for me, a normal pre-pregnancy time. This particular route is pretty flat and fast, but nonetheless, I am taking it. I think I can consider this race running like I did before my son.

And after killing myself for over 5 months now, I will take that as a win.

20150314_094326

This year was not cold, and I was not plagued with morning sickness. But I also greeted the finish line with no ambitions. I had not run a timed 5K since the Jingle Bell 5K in December, and I was simply curious to see if my pace had changed since then. I shaved off nearly 3 minutes in so many months.

I run differently since having my son. I am less rigid and driven. Yes, I always want to run the full distance, and I still cling to the same pace goals. Yet I now accept when it doesn’t happen. If I have a rough day, if I have to walk, it is ok.

So I just ran the 5K. I did go a little too fast my first mile, but nothing like my usual. I knew the route from the previous year, which was helpful. I was not surprised by the pointless T-shaped switchbacks in the last mile. I just wore my green, wogged, and forced myself not to think about pace or passing people or anything.

It mostly worked, and in the end, the time was definitely a success. It makes me wonder what I will run like after my rib and sciatic nerve are fully recovered and when I lose my last 15 pounds to be prepregnancy size. It would be quite a shock if I could come out better than I went in and maybe finally worth all this work.

The races are lined up. I pretty much have at least one per month selected (or already registered) through the end of the year. And I am pulling no punches. There is another half marathon on the docket (all downhill, thankfully); I am returning to Cripple Creek (my most challenging race to date). No more recovery; this is normal running now. Running now takes a backseat to two kids, a partner, two jobs… but it’s still a high priority!

Sanity always is.

About ChrstnaBergling

Colorado-bred writer, Christina Bergling knew she wanted to be an author in fourth grade. In college, she pursued a professional writing degree and started publishing small scale. With the realities of paying bills, she started working as a technical writer and document manager, traveling to Iraq as a contractor and eventually becoming a trainer and software developer. She avidly hosted multiple blogs on Iraq, bipolar, pregnancy, running. In 2015, she published two novellas. She is also featured in the horror collection Collected Christmas. Bergling is a mother of two young children and lives with her family in Colorado Springs. She spends her non-writing time running, doing yoga and barre, belly dancing, taking pictures, traveling, and sucking all the marrow out of life. View all posts by ChrstnaBergling

Leave a Reply

