March Stats

Sigh.

March was another month of utter plateau. I worked, and I killed myself. I sacrificed sleep and time working or with my family. I even worked on the eating component, shifting to a high protein, lean, organic diet.

And nothing.

This is the first time in my life that I have behaved, eaten right, done the workouts, and it did not work. Usually, I earn getting or staying fat. It bends my mind to do what I am accustomed to working for nothing, to suffer for nothing. I have been so blindingly frustrated that I do not even really want to talk about it. I do not want to be just another fat girl ranting about how she can’t get the weight off.

I did ask my doctor about my issue. She is checking my thyroid, as we do every six months, so we’ll see what that says. However, I doubt that it is. She thinks it is from breastfeeding. She says a woman’s body usually holds 10-15 pounds of fat while nursing to keep producing milk. I cannot compare this experience with my last post partum because that is when I started my thyroid medication. She said if I maintain the proper diet and exercise, the weight will fall off easily after I wean. In five months.

But who knows.

I am going to just continue on, stay the course, and only shift my focus. Instead of counting pounds and inches (until my son’s birthday), I am going to focus on number of miles, pace, strength, endurance. If I can’t lose weight for five months, I will be stronger, faster, and in more shape before I get there. It is all I can do besides give up.

I feel trapped and very unsuccessful. Weighing in at the gym every Tuesday is always just a punch in the chest.

march

Total miles: 38
Total miles run outside: 38
Longest distance: 7.8 miles
Best times: 5K in 33:28, 7.8 miles in 1:47:25

Total weight loss: 26 pounds
Weight loss in March: 2 pounds

Total inch loss: 5″- 6″- 4″
Inch loss in March: 0″- o″- 0″

About ChrstnaBergling

Colorado-bred writer, Christina Bergling knew she wanted to be an author in fourth grade. In college, she pursued a professional writing degree and started publishing small scale. With the realities of paying bills, she started working as a technical writer and document manager, traveling to Iraq as a contractor and eventually becoming a trainer and software developer. She avidly hosted multiple blogs on Iraq, bipolar, pregnancy, running. In 2015, she published two novellas. She is also featured in the horror collection Collected Christmas. Bergling is a mother of two young children and lives with her family in Colorado Springs. She spends her non-writing time running, doing yoga and barre, belly dancing, taking pictures, traveling, and sucking all the marrow out of life. View all posts by ChrstnaBergling

Leave a Reply

