June Stats

Ugh. I am regretting these monthly stat posts. It’s not motivating to see the same lack of progress every month. Stupid breastfeeding (2 months left).

June was not a great month for running. The summer heat finally started, and I ran into my summer wall, both physically and mentally. I found myself fleeing to the gym for classes rather than braving the trail in the sun. For example, I took 10 zumba classes (my new obsession) in June but only ran 7 times.

I know I always hate summer running; I know my performance always tanks in the heat. I just have to keep powering through, not paying attention to the stats, and wait for the avalanche of progress in the fall. The weather change combined with the conclusion of my breastfeeding should, hopefully, result in some real changes. Finally.

On the last day of June, we did complete our 13 mile half marathon practice run. My running mate ended up having a rough run of overheating and cramping. We took a few brief breaks, and I had to force her to walk the end, but all in all, it went relatively well. I think we are prepared for the race in two weeks.

I always thought to myself that being able to run a half again would mean I was recovered from my pregnancy and back to normal. Now normal is different though. I think I will still count it as valuable milestone, but I have stopped striving to get back. Instead, I want to get to a new place of fitness that fits my new life. I have body fat to shred, minutes to shave off times, and strength to build.

june

Total miles: 55
Longest distance: 13 miles
Best times: 6.5 miles in 1:27, 8 miles in 1:55, 13 miles in 3:04

Total weight loss: 27 pounds
Weight loss in June: 3 pounds, 2% body fat

About ChrstnaBergling

Colorado-bred writer, Christina Bergling knew she wanted to be an author in fourth grade. In college, she pursued a professional writing degree and started publishing small scale. With the realities of paying bills, she started working as a technical writer and document manager, traveling to Iraq as a contractor and eventually becoming a trainer and software developer. She avidly hosted multiple blogs on Iraq, bipolar, pregnancy, running. In 2015, she published two novellas. She is also featured in the horror collection Collected Christmas. Bergling is a mother of two young children and lives with her family in Colorado Springs. She spends her non-writing time running, doing yoga and barre, belly dancing, taking pictures, traveling, and sucking all the marrow out of life. View all posts by ChrstnaBergling

Leave a Reply

