Breathe

I have been running for about three years now. I am, by no means, good or talented at it, hence the zombie turtle nickname. Yet I always try. I train hard; I increase distance. I can do a half marathon, slowly but surely.

Recently, I saw a video pass by on Facebook, among the others littering my feed from various running pages and runner friends. This one I actually watched (I never watch online videos) and then attempted the technique.

Generally, I do not give any thought to my breathing while I run. I am sucking air like a zombified basset hound, just struggling to keep my sluggish pace. I gasp; I pant; I slobber. All quite ineffectively.

Shockingly, trying this new breathing method actually made a difference. A noticeable difference. The first time I tried it. I was pleasantly shocked.

I had to modify it, of course. I had to extend my inhales/exhales to two strides per to not feel like I was suffocating. I think I also sometimes still sneak cheat gasps in between. I am struggling with and learning it. Sometimes, I lose the breathing and feel myself stumbling and panting to find the rhythm again.

However, if I establish the rhythm before I get winded and really find my place in it, the breathing makes a significant impact on my running. I end up barely gasping or heaving. I float more often. I am able to lose myself in the chant-like breath and just keep going.

It is not perfect; it is not amazing, but it made a difference, so I had to share it.

I hope to see it make even more of an impact as I continue to refine my technique and attempt more challenging runs this fall.

Christina Bergling

christinabergling.com
facebook.com/chrstnabergling
@ChrstnaBergling
chrstnaberglingfierypen.wordpress.com
pinterest.com/chrstnabergling

SavagesCoverChristinaSavages

Two survivors search the ruins of America for the last strain of humanity. Marcus believes they are still human; Parker knows her own darkness. Until one discovery changes everything.

Available now on Amazon!
savagesnovella.com

TheWaning_CoverThe Waning

Beatrix woke up in a cage. Can she survive long enough to escape, or will he succeed at breaking her down into a possession?

Available now on Amazon!
thewaning.com

About ChrstnaBergling

Colorado-bred writer, Christina Bergling knew she wanted to be an author in fourth grade. In college, she pursued a professional writing degree and started publishing small scale. With the realities of paying bills, she started working as a technical writer and document manager, traveling to Iraq as a contractor and eventually becoming a trainer and software developer. She avidly hosted multiple blogs on Iraq, bipolar, pregnancy, running. In 2015, she published two novellas. She is also featured in the horror collection Collected Christmas. Bergling is a mother of two young children and lives with her family in Colorado Springs. She spends her non-writing time running, doing yoga and barre, belly dancing, taking pictures, traveling, and sucking all the marrow out of life. View all posts by ChrstnaBergling

2 responses to “Breathe

Leave a Reply

