Training for Downhill

(Note: I AM NOT A RUNNING EXPERT. This blog is merely a compilation of research and the personal experience of a sluggish runner.)

feature_large

My running mates and I spent the spring and summer training for a downhill half marathon. Over 13 miles of decline. As much I adore running downhill, even I knew that I would need to train up for something this huge.

With research and experimentation, I quickly learned that my downhill form was abominable. I leaned into the gravity and ran hard, allowing all the impact and my weight to jam down on my joints. While this made it fast (and easy), there was no way my knees, hips, and ankles would be on board with such form for so many relentless miles. Especially at mountain pass grade.

rundownhill

We started with research, like this Runner’s World article we found on the Revel training page. Our research summary seemed to indicate that three things were paramount: form, strength training, and the change in cardio level.

Form. I think form was probably the most important element. I tried multiple approaches gleaned from articles and other runners. One suggestion was to slightly bend the knee with each stride, a miniature plie each time your foot struck the pavement. Another recommendation was to keep the legs bent and cycling under the pelvis like wheels. It was also important to maintain mid-foot striking rather than leaning forward into the toes or back into the heel.

DownhillFootPosition-748x290

I found my form in somewhat of an amalgamation of my original, flawed practice and selections from all the research. I continued to lean into the grade and allow the gravity to really do the work; However, I engaged both my quads and my calves to keep my knees soft at each impact and to keep my foot falling correctly. As the grade increased, I would begin cycling my legs, moving them circularly under a stable pelvis. It required more exertion, but my skeleton, ligaments, everything thanked me wholeheartedly for it.

Strength Training. In order to make these form corrections, I needed stronger muscles. Stronger muscles run better; stronger muscles protect joints. I loathe strength training, but in the interest of safeguarding my running, I was willing to suck it up. Between our group (and the internet), we pooled our collective knowledge of personal trainers, classes taken, sports played. We crafted a strength training workout that focused on the core and lower body and included doing most exercises to fatigue.

Toenail+blisters+and+running+downhill

Cardio Change. For me especially, downhill running was an extreme cardio change. As we ran downhill during our half and our practice runs beforehand, I felt barely an exertion. My breathing, my body temperature, everything but my muscles felt like I was just walking along. This cardiac shift was deceptive. It made it feel like we were not really working; it made us feel like we could press harder. Until muscle fatigue and running aches crept up to overtake us. Maintaining pace became dire, refusing to be seduced by steady breath and calm temperature.

All three of these elements were honed in necessary practice. We ran downhill to cement our form and learn our pace, stretch our distance. We ran uphill to build our muscles (and, in my case, remember to appreciate the downhill). We found the best downhill stretch to develop a rhythm in the adapted form, the building muscles, and the shifted level of exertion.

I also employed the breathing technique I learned earlier, which helps in every situation so far.

Ultimately, these methods were successful. I completed my downhill half marathon without taking a break or incident, and to my utter shock, I was minimally sore afterward. I managed to protect my joints with my form and muscles; I managed to keep control over my pace (with some gentle reminders from my running mate).

These changes in my running have also improved my experience overall. I find that my knees and hips ache far less often post run. I definitely have tamed my downhill running to be both productive and beneficial.

Now, training shifts with the seasons. With Cripple Creek around the corner, it becomes all uphill, all the time!

Christina Bergling

christinabergling.com
facebook.com/chrstnabergling
@ChrstnaBergling
chrstnaberglingfierypen.wordpress.com
pinterest.com/chrstnabergling

SavagesCoverChristinaSavages

Two survivors search the ruins of America for the last strain of humanity. Marcus believes they are still human; Parker knows her own darkness. Until one discovery changes everything.

Available now on Amazon!
savagesnovella.com

TheWaning_CoverThe Waning

Beatrix woke up in a cage. Can she survive long enough to escape, or will he succeed at breaking her down into a possession?

Available now on Amazon!
thewaning.com

About ChrstnaBergling

Colorado-bred writer, Christina Bergling knew she wanted to be an author in fourth grade. In college, she pursued a professional writing degree and started publishing small scale. With the realities of paying bills, she started working as a technical writer and document manager, traveling to Iraq as a contractor and eventually becoming a trainer and software developer. She avidly hosted multiple blogs on Iraq, bipolar, pregnancy, running. In 2015, she published two novellas. She is also featured in the horror collection Collected Christmas. Bergling is a mother of two young children and lives with her family in Colorado Springs. She spends her non-writing time running, doing yoga and barre, belly dancing, taking pictures, traveling, and sucking all the marrow out of life. View all posts by ChrstnaBergling

Leave a Reply

