Creepy Crawl 5K

Do not throw a Halloween party before a race. Do not drink copious amounts of pumpkin flavored alcohol before waking up early to run. Lessons (re)learned.

Last year, I could not participate in the Creepy Crawl 5K because I had a newborn baby. This year, I definitely crippled myself with a flirtatious hangover. Then unseasonable heat just beckoned my nausea.

The first mile, we stuck with Michelle and encouraged her to her goal of running a mile straight. She made it! The first step to the goal of running a full 5K. I was excited at the progress.

When she took her walk break, Trisha and I continued on. Trisha lit out, while I hung behind and went through all the uncomfortable stages of my hangover. Ultimately, I was really not feeling the run at all. I never found a float, and I just did not want to be running. I was hot and felt sick and just did not want to do it. However, I resisted the urge to walk and finished the run.

I have felt creeping doubts lately. I catch myself wondering if I have fallen out of love with running. The stagnation in my running recovery and post partum weight loss have left me frustrated and burned out. I cannot tell if that is influencing my feelings or I really am over running. Maybe I exhausted my obsession and it just died when I had to take my baby break. I am not sure how I feel or what I want. I do know that the continued warm weather is robbing me of my beloved fall running. It seems like it will be winter before I am not melting to death.

At least the run was beautiful. Though hotter than I would have liked,  the weather was pleasant. The route disappeared along the train tracks before folding on itself and winding around the lake.

creepycrawl

The highlight of my morning was the kid race. My daughter did a couple kid races in the YMCA series last year, but she has put a 5K under her 4 year-old belt since then. She wanted to run more of the mile than I expected. She took a couple walk breaks and complained a bit, but she was bound and determined to beat her friend.

creepyrun

When she turned on her little sprint, I could barely keep up with her. She is going to be very fast as she gets older, much faster than her zombie turtle mother. She will be outrunning me very soon, just like almost everyone does. I was quite proud of her. I just need to teach her about being a better running mate in the future.

creepykid3

 

Christina Bergling

christinabergling.com
facebook.com/chrstnabergling
@ChrstnaBergling
chrstnaberglingfierypen.wordpress.com
pinterest.com/chrstnabergling

SavagesCoverChristinaSavages

Two survivors search the ruins of America for the last strain of humanity. Marcus believes they are still human; Parker knows her own darkness. Until one discovery changes everything.

Available now on Amazon!
savagesnovella.com

TheWaning_CoverThe Waning

Beatrix woke up in a cage. Can she survive long enough to escape, or will he succeed at breaking her down into a possession?

Available now on Amazon!
thewaning.com

About ChrstnaBergling

Colorado-bred writer, Christina Bergling knew she wanted to be an author in fourth grade. In college, she pursued a professional writing degree and started publishing small scale. With the realities of paying bills, she started working as a technical writer and document manager, traveling to Iraq as a contractor and eventually becoming a trainer and software developer. She avidly hosted multiple blogs on Iraq, bipolar, pregnancy, running. In 2015, she published two novellas. She is also featured in the horror collection Collected Christmas. Bergling is a mother of two young children and lives with her family in Colorado Springs. She spends her non-writing time running, doing yoga and barre, belly dancing, taking pictures, traveling, and sucking all the marrow out of life. View all posts by ChrstnaBergling

One response to “Creepy Crawl 5K

Leave a Reply

